Do you long for Jesus?

This week as I studied Job’s response to the accustations of Eliphaz, Bildad & Zophar, I was struck by how much Job longed for a true friend that could relate and how much he longer for a mediator. In other words, Job longed for Jesus in the midst of his pain. He wanted One he could look in the eye and know the friend could relate to the pain. He wanted One who could stand between himself and God and equally represent both. Consider the following passages:

Job 9:32-33 For he (God) is not a man, as I am, that I might answer him, that we should come to trial together. (33) There is no arbiter between us, who might lay his hand on us both. (italicized word added for clarity)

Job 19:25-26 For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last he will stand upon the earth. (26) And after my skin has been thus destroyed, yet in my flesh I shall see God,

I must ask myself, and I ask you:

  • How much do you long for Jesus when you are sufferring?
  • When suffering, do you plead your case based on your merits?
  • When suffering, do you let Christ plead your case on His merits?

The Cross teaches us God the Father now deals with us according to the pleasure He has in His Son! Christ’s merits and work determines how the Father treats you. Is that enough for you when suffering? Job longed for a Friend (Matthew 11:19) & an Arbitrator/Mediator (1 Timothy 2:5-6). Job longed for Jesus? Do you?

About Eric

husband, father, pastor - all by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment