I Miss My Daddy

Today would have been my daddy’s 60th birthday, but on May 18th the Lord saw fit to take him. I know God is good (Luke 18:19) & he does all things well (Mark 7:37), but it still hurts today. Also, today just happened to be a Tuesday & every Tuesday my dad would call me at 10am. We would discuss all sorts of topics, but inevitably we would talk about the Atlanta Braves, Clemson Tiger football, ping-pong & Jesus.

These were my daddy’s life.  I would love to be able to talk to him about Bobby Cox managing his last game last night as the Braves lost in the NLDS & how things would have been different if Chipper Jones didn’t get hurt. I would love to talk to him about Clemson losing another close game & how upset we both are that South Carolina won. I would love to listen to him tell me again how great he is at ping-pong & how he can still “smoke” those younger men that he played with several times a week. How many times do I need to hear that he came back from 8 or 9 down to beat someone? Well, I would like to hear it one more time.

But most of all, I would love to tell my daddy that I will be teaching from Genesis 4 tomorrow night & preaching from James 4:11-17 this Sunday. He would take whatever I was preaching on & read it every day until we spoke again the following week. And then he would ask me again, “Son, how long does it take you to write your sermons?” To which I would reply every week, “I just depends… but usually 15-20 hours.” “Remarkable!” was all he would say. I’m still not sure what he meant & would love to ask him now.

My daddy wasn’t a perfect man. He was a fallen sinner that was graciously redeemed by Jesus. He lived in fear. He died lonely. But today, on his 60th birthday, he isn’t fearful anymore. Today he isn’t alone. He’s with Jesus and in Jesus’ “presence there is fullness of joy & pleasures forevermore” (Psalm 16:11).

Happy Birthday Pop!

About Eric

husband, father, pastor - all by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Miss My Daddy

  1. Your Mother says:

    Eric, I am so sorry that I didn’t mention your daddys birthday today when you called. I is also the day that our pastor passed away, last year. This is a very tough date for so many people. My prayers are with you, Tom and Jessica. Just knowing your dad is with Jesus makes it easier, but I know you all miss those importing things, missed conversations with him, but you will always have those special memories of him.
    I love you, Son,,
    Mother

  2. Margaret Crane says:

    I thought of Tommy today. Then I thought of you and Tom. It’s hard to believe he is not here any more. I think of Mama often. I miss her still. They are with each other now and the rest of my brothers are there also. Soon my turn will come. I do not fear it as I did when I was younger. My God is good, all the time. I love you boys more than I could ever put in words. Aunt Margaret

  3. Jessika says:

    i miss him so much it hurts… But thats ok b/c i know he’s in a much better place than we are!!

Leave a Reply

