Pastor Nathan & Anne-Marie’s Living Room!

When will Pastor Nathan have enough books?

About Eric

husband, father, pastor - all by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pastor Nathan & Anne-Marie’s Living Room!

  1. Pastor Nathan says:

    I think I’m finished buying books for a while. I have had to read a lot for my seminary classes, of course. I have tried to avoid purchasing every book required, borrowing from friends or the library when possible. However, in addition to textbooks, about every semester I have purchased certain works that I knew would be helpful for research papers. (My sweet momma has been kind enough to buy me a few of these recently.) Additionally, sometimes you can tell when a particular book has profoundly shaped a professor. This has prompted me toward the bookstore a few times in hopes of being shaped in similar ways. Most of the commentaries I have acquired have been a result of teaching responsibilities at church. I confess, I’ve picked up a few books just because they were cheap and looked interesting. Aside from theology books, I have also been trying to collect some of the classic works of English literature (Shakespeare, Poe, Dickens, Steinbeck, etc.), most of which can be found at used book shops for next to nothing. Books have been given to me as gifts. I have obtained lots of books this way. The Lord has certainly been gracious in providing me with plenty of reading material. Now if I only had more time to read! But alas, God has been generous here as well. As my time at seminary comes to a close, I am humbled by the encouragement and support I have received from so many. I don’t deserve the opportunity to serve at Hill Grove either. It is only by God’s mercy that I have this ministry (2 Cor. 4:1).

    I once heard a seminary professor say something to the effect that any pastor who leaves seminary and then stops buying books ought to be ashamed of himself. I’m not so sure. I have been blessed with many good books. And, as C.S. Lewis once remarked, “I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.” Yeah, I think I’m finished buying books for a while.

Leave a Reply

