Why I Hate to Wait

“Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!” – Psalm 27:4

I hate to wait; I have places to go, I have people to see, I have things to do.

I love me and I have a wonderful plan for my life.

I hate to wait. I don’t like obstacles in my way or people that disagree or processes that take too long.

I hate to wait. I don’t like lines or traffic or delayed appointments or tardy people.

I hate to wait. I wake up every day with an agenda. I know what I want to accomplish. I know how I want it done. I know where I want it done. I know when I want it done. I know who I want to do it. I know why it has to be done this way.

I hate to wait because I am the one having to wait. I don’t mind if you have to wait but I don’t want to have to wait with you.

I hate to wait because I tend to put myself in the one place I am never supposed to be and I tend to want to be the one thing I should never crave to be.

I hate to wait because I want to be the center of the universe and I want to be my own sovereign. When I forget Your plan, when I lose sight of Your will, when I begin to think that my life belongs to me, when I fall prey to the delusion that I am wiser than You and my ways are better than Yours, then I hate to wait and curse the obstacles in my way.

But You are Sovereign and You are Good and Loving and Gracious and Kind and Mighty, filled with compassion, overflowing with mercy.

You bought me with the price of Your Son.

You forgave me and the cost was His death.

For all my attempts at independent wisdom and self-sovereignty, the truth is that my life does not belong to me. So once more I fall to my knees. Once more I open my hands and give my life back to You and say, ‘You do in, with, and through me what You think is best and I will follow You and when Your wisdom and grace require it, I will be willing to wait.’

Paul Tripp, A Shelter in the Time of Storms, p.114-16

About Eric

husband, father, pastor - all by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

