The Title Explained

Nothing in my hands I bring; simply to thy cross I cling.” – Augustus Toplady, Rock of Ages

This is the cry of all who are saved by grace and mercy of God. In fact, these words are the only acceptable saving plea before God. We are not accepted on the basis of our works or our obedience. Rather, we are only accpted on the basis of Jesus’ life, death, burial, and resurrection. I pray we would all joyfully embrace the cry of Paul in Philippians 3:8-9

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ (9) and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith–

Church family, joy is found in being empty handed. The sooner we let go of our striving to please God and embrace the finsihed work of Christ on our behalf, the sooner joy will be a consistent mark in our individual lives and in the life of our faith family.

My prayer is we will come together as a family empty handed!

About Eric

husband, father, pastor - all by the grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Title Explained

  1. Margo says:

    “Nothing in My Hands I Bring” reminds me of complete surrender–relinquishing all control. As I read Nancy Leigh DeMoss’s book, “Surrender, A Heart God Controls,” I am convicted of the areas in my life where I still fight for control. Instead, I need to simply surrender and let the LORD fight the battles for me. After all, He is already victorious!!!

    • Eric says:

      complete surrender is so difficult – for any number of reasons. However, so often it starts with “considering yourself dead to sin” (Rom 6:11). Too many of us still see sin as a option. Sometimes the battle could be won if we would just “die” to the option of sinning.

      Maybe I will explain this more in an upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

